How the TEER System works in the Express Entry Program

On November, 2022, Canada replaced its National Occupation Classification (NOC) with the 2021 version. The new NOC system groups jobs into categories: training, education, experience, and responsibilities (TEER). This new TEER system is based on the type of work and duties an employee does.

There are many qualifying occupation groups, depending on whatever Express Entry program you are interested in. Prospective Express Entry applicants can check their job title, code, and TEER category on the Government of Canada's website to determine if their employment is listed under the acceptable classification categories.

TEER Categories and Examples of Jobs

TEER Category Job Type Job Examples
TEER 0 Management occupations
  • Restaurant managers
  • Marketing & public relations manager
  • Financial managers
TEER 1 Occupations that usually require a university degree
  • Doctors
  • Dentists
  • Engineers
TEER 2 Occupations that usually require either a college diploma or apprenticeship training of 2 or more years
  • Web technicians
  • Medical laboratory technologists
  • Heavy equipment operators
TEER 3 Occupations that usually require either a college diploma, apprenticeship training of less than 2 years, or more than 6 months of on-the-job training
  • Bakers
  • Plumbers
  • Clerks
TEER 4 Occupations that usually require a high school diploma or several weeks of on-the-job training
  • Couriers & messengers
  • Retail salespersons
  • Property administrators
TEER 5 Occupations that usually need short-term work demonstration and no formal education
  • Cashiers
  • Pet groomers & animal care workers
  • Receptionists

How The TEER System Affects Express Entry Applicants

The TEER system will change the eligibility requirements for Express Entry categories such as the Federal Skilled Worker Class, the Canadian Experience Class, and the Federal Skilled Trades Class. The new method permits individuals to advance to higher TEER categories based on their work experience, even if they lack the necessary educational credentials. Long-term experience can be considered equivalent to a degree/certification in several instances. However, because the skill categories have been enlarged, potential candidates may now fall into another skill group and be ineligible for some programs.

It is the responsibility of every applicant who enters the Express Entry pool to ensure that their job classification is current. The qualifications for Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada's (IRCC) Express Entry programs have already been updated. Applicants for the Federal Skilled Worker Program must have the required work experience for TEER 0, 1, 2, and 3 which is also similar to the Canadian Experience Class program. Applicants for the Federal Skilled Trades Program must have at least TEER 2 or 3 work experience in specified skilled trades professions.

Because of these changes to the occupational classification system, 16 previously disqualified occupations are now eligible for Express Entry. TEER 3 now includes the newly added occupations. Payroll administrators, dental assistants, teaching assistants, correctional officers, estheticians, and transport truck drivers are among those who fall under this category.

How Can We Help

If you want to apply for permanent residence through one of the Express Entry programs, the Immigration Law Firm of Matthew Jeffery has over 20 years of experience with these types of applications. Use our FREE Express Entry CRS Calculator to see if you qualify.